Swapping Hoaxes

This morning I received an email, which supposedly contained photos of an 8-year old Muslim child. According to the email, the kid had stolen a piece of bread and, under Sharia law, his punishment was to have his arm crushed by a vehicle.

Furthermore, the sender states this is one of the many reasons we should fight for the right of others to have the same freedoms we enjoy. I was then urged to pass the email along and help spread the truth.

Okay. I’ll admit it. Initially, the photo had the desired effect. I was ready to jump up, put on my New Balance and go whup some Islamic child abuser’s ass. I know, I know – but I’m maternal: he’s little. The gut-reaction simply couldn’t be avoided.

Seconds later, of course, my sense of skepticism kicked in.

I’m thinking there’s no way in hell that kid is eight and if this is torture, why would they give him a blanket? Oh, c’mon you should’ve seen this coming. If I’m suspicious of my own religion: you’ve got to know I won’t trust anything from the internets.

So, I googled it.

It’s a hoax.

According to Snopes, the photo has been circulating since 2004 . The administrator of the site, where the photograph originally appeared, stated the boy was a street performer. Well that would explain why the man standing nearby has a microphone.

Email Hoax Pic

What truly annoys me about the whole thing is that I received this from a fellow who constantly complains about folks sending him bogus e-mails.

Turns out, like most people, he doesn’t bother to confirm or deny things he wants to believe.  This is accepted at face value.

I can’t do that, particularly with the whole anti-Islamic mess.

I keep getting tripped up over the fact that Christianity, Judaism, Islam are all cousins, each having ties to Abraham. Likewise, all have questionable doctrines/practices based on the interpretations of man.

Because of the interconnection, I suppose – I’ve often wondered what our country would be like if there were no separation of church and state. How different from Islamic rule would it be?

Keep in mind we did descend from people who crucified their own prophet, stoned suspected whores, poked out eyeballs, burned women at the stake if they seemed suspiciously spiritual and considered hangings a social event so important it required your good going-to-meetin’ bonnet.

We’ve also requested imprecatory prayer against those who oppose us and condemned drinking, sex, dancing, music, Disneyland, equality, and some of us are still plain old batshit crazy.

So, if Southern Baptists ruled the world without interference or opposition, how different would our nation be? Would we live in an impossibly repressed world where the only folks having sex and fried chicken would be the preachers?

It’s a thought.

Anyway, a few minutes ago, I sent the Snopes link back to the email’s sender, along with this:

Baptist Drownin’Baptist Mentality. YOU NEED TO KNOW THE TRUTH! I want you to look at the following picture and see what abuse is being done by Southern Baptist Christians! In the United States, many Southern Baptist religious leaders routinely encourage and often participate personally in the attempted drowning of black kids.

Now, you look and ask yourself: is this a religion of love? Pass this along so all can know the truth!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One thought on “Swapping Hoaxes

Leave a Reply

