Byrd Burton

On Monday evening March 10th, Rogersville native and Grammy award winning guitarist, Barry “Byrd” Burton, age 61,  passed away after a long battle with leukemia.”Byrd” is survived by his loving and dedicated sister, Luan “Aff-Smif” and husband, Mickey Smathers, and his niece, Tara and her husband, Jacob Harrell.

A Memorial service will be conducted 2 p.m. on Saturday, March 15, 2008 from the Center Point General Baptist Church. The family will receive friends on Friday, March 14, 2008 from 6-8 p.m., at Hendersonville Funeral Home and from 1 p.m. until the time of service on Saturday, at Center Point General Baptist Church. Flowers will be accepted or memorial contributions may be made to the Leukemia Lymphoma Society or the Hendersonville Humane Society.

The benefit concert planned for Byrd’s treatment and medical expenses will go forward in his honor.

2 thoughts on “Byrd Burton

  1. I am a songwriter and indie record producer. Byrd Burton was always the first person I called when I had a music session. He was my ‘lead’ picker and I left it up to Byrd to hire the musicians. Byrd was my ”go-between” for communication between musicians and myself. You could say, “My right arm…”
    Byrd was an excellent basketball player and rumor had it that he turned down a basketball scholarship to Memphis State because of his love for music and the conflict it might cause.
    I loved Byrd like a brother. I live in Florida and a few years ago, I produced a record on the Hager Twins literally over the telephone by talking with Byrd and listening to the playback. Nashville Music’s loss is Heaven’s gain…God must have needed a great “Lead” guitarist.

    Lathan Hudson

Leave a Reply

