The What Could Have Been… Conversation

Last night, I was working on the taxes, cursing the government and watching CNN when Mr. Smartypants flopped down on the sofa.

“I sure hope that Obama guy doesn’t win the and move into the White House,” he said pointing at the television.

“Why?”

“I want that other person to win. The one Daddy thinks is a stupid twat.”

“Don’t say that.”

“Why can’t I say that I want her to win?”

“No, not that, the other word.”

“Don’t you want her to win?”

“Hillary? Nah.”

Mr Smartypants shrugged, “Well, I think it’d be cool to see what it’s like to have a lady in the White House. That’s never happened before.”

“We’ve never had a black President before.”

“Yeah, but we can do that anytime.”

“How do you figure?”

“Well that Obama guy is like a teenager so we can pick him next time. But that Hillary lady is kinda old, probably `bout as old as Nana. So, she might die before next time.”

It occurred to me that if my father could hear this conversation, he’d sue for custody.

So, I asked: “What about the guys on the other side.”

“What guys?”

“All the Republican guys on the other side like John McCain, right there on TV.”

“HE’S running for President!?”

“Yeah.”

“Oh, I thought he was Hillary’s papaw or something. No, he definitely won’t live through it. ”

“Presidential terms don’t last that long.”

“Well, that other guy has been there for a long time – since I was born, I think.”

Well, almost.

 

One thought on “The What Could Have Been… Conversation

  1. Pingback: Volunteer Voters » Are Things Ever That Different?

Leave a Reply

