Imported Rumors

I received a message earlier today, which tickled me a bit. The email, with a subject line reading “This is an insult and a kick in the butt to all of us…” stated:

If an immigrant is over 65 they can apply for SSI and Medicaid and get more than my mom gets for Social Security, and she worked from 1944 till 2004, only getting $791 per month because she was born in 1924 and there is a “catch 22…”

Well, you can read the message in its various forms @ Snopes, where the claim is identified as FALSE. According to the e-myth debunkers: the message originated in Cananda in March `04 after the Toronto Star published a report regarding plans for Canada to work in conjunction with the United Nations to settle asylum-seekers from a Somali refugee-camp into smaller Canadian cities. It was later adapted to fit the growing American anti-immigration movement and started making the rounds here.

Isn’t that typical? Even our damn rumors are imported and later found faulty.

Anyway – it wasn’t the message which tickled me but a note attached from the originating source, Mr. Frank.

Mr. Frank says:

I HAVE NO IDEA IF THIS IS TRUE. I DID NOT CHECK IT. Knowing our Government today in Washington I don’t question it. It serves a good purpose. One can cuss, rave, stomp, break things, shoot, kick the cat, drink whiskey, drink more whiskey and cuss more. I would say GO VOTE but what is there to vote for. Guess more whiskey is the answer.

Well, I don’t go for kicking kitty cats: but I’m with Frank on the whiskey part.

Leave a Reply

