Relinquishing Rights

We have this rule of thumb in my family.  If you do not exercise your right to vote, you relinquish your right to complain.

For me, giving up this right is out of the question.  There are very few things I’m good at – but complaining is one of them.  I use it far more often than my other special skills, which are limited to stain removal, guitar tuning and piano repair.  Plus, those other things never come up in conversation.

So, I am getting anxious.

Here we are in the Fall of 2007.  I remained unmoved by the choices available.  What if there are no worthy candidates?  What if I don’t want to vote for any of them? Do I just vote for the one I can “most likely stomach without increasing my antacid intake”? Can I pretend to vote?  What about write-ins?  Does that count?

2 thoughts on “Relinquishing Rights

  1. Pingback: Volunteer Voters » The Right To Remain Silent

  2. I eventually voted for John Kerry in the 2004 Presidential election, but I was still making up my mind in 2003. I had voted for Bush in 2000, but I became very dissatisfied with the administration beginning shortly after the “Axis of Evil” State of the Union speech. I opposed the war prior to the invasion of Iraq and thought it was a mistake to engage without more international support.

    Long story short, I voted in the 2003 Republican primary but only pressed the “Vote” button. I did not make a selection, so my vote was listed, along with many others, as “undecided.” I did not want to skip the polls, but I didn’t like the candidates available to me, either.

Leave a Reply

