I Sleep Better Knowing…

For the record, I do not own a marijuana t-shirt.  I do not have a hemp leaf tattooed on my ass. And I am not, as Granny Grump says, “doin’ the pot.”  However, (and this could be my peace-pipe smoking ancestral blood talking here) I support the regulated legalization and taxation of marijuana.   Yes, yes – I know what some of you are thinking.  I can hear the litany of offense italicized in my head.

What! Why? How could you!  Do you want poor innocent babies to become stoners? We thought… you… were… a Republican. This reeks of libertarianism. How could you betray us? Didn’t we raise you better (aka Baptist)? Say No To Drugs! Just Say No! Oh My God, you ARE “doin’ pot,” aren’t you?

Dammit, I knew that coming out-of-the-closet as a Jon Gettman supporter would  cause folks to jump to the conclusion that I am an “evil pot doer.”  I’m not. Didn’t I say so, right up there, in paragraph one?  Marijuana is and should remain a controlled substance – but considering the drug has obvious, proven (and affordable) benefits for those in the end-stages of various diseases: I support the reclassification of the drug from Schedule I to a Schedule III. 

Why Not?

After all the criminalization of cannabis had little to do with concern for public safety and more to do with stifling the industrial hemp market.  Naturally, in shaping public policy, the usual instruments of mass persuasion played a heavy hand: Media, Money and Racism. Gotta love these arguments used by Prohibitionist at 1937 Congressional Hearing

 

  • Marijuana causes white women to seek sexual relations with Negroes, entertainers, and any others.”
  • …the primary reason to outlaw marijuana is its effect on the degenerate races.”

Furthermore, in 1986, the DEA authorized the rescheduling of Marinol, a drug containing Synthetic THC (THC is the naturally occurring component in cannabis) from Schedule I to Schedule II. Then, In 1999, Marinol was rescheduled III after a finding that THC had a potential for abuse less than that of LSD, cocaine, and heroin.

Now, taking all of this into consideration, I’m sure we all feel so much safer knowing that – while this, this and this are taking place –  this evil pot doer criminal will punished accordingly.

Leave a Reply

